Award / prize

Faculty of Philosophy, University of Oxford - Conington Prizes

General information on this award / prize

Faculty of Philosophy, University of Oxford
Conington Prizes

General Description

Conington Prizes offered annually at the University of Oxford. There are three different fields and each is awarded yearly in rotation. The three fields are: Classical Literature, Textual Criticism, and Philology; Ancient History, Religion, Art, and Archaeology; and Ancient Philosophy and Ideas. The prizes are offered for a dissertation on a subject chosen by the writer, although it has to be approved by the Board of the Faculty of Classics. The value of the prizes is about £1,000.


Applicants should not have been awarded any of the prizes before and they can only apply for a prize twice. They should be either a graduate of the university or a current member. On the day appointed for handing in the dissertations, all applicants must be qualified by examination for a degree in the University. They must also have completed six years, while not exceeded fifteen years, from their matriculation. And they must be of postdoctoral status or equivalent. Graduates whose degrees are from other universities should have completed two years, and not exceeded eleven years from their matriculation.

Application deadlines

The following deadlines apply: