Grant / loan for studying abroad

The Royal Geographic Society - Slawson Awards

General information on this grant / loan

The Royal Geographic Society
Slawson Awards
Eligible countries: 
Asia, not limited

General Description

The Royal Geographical Society gives up to four grants each year called Slawson Awards. They are worth up to £3,000 each. They help PhD students conduct geographical field research. In particular this research should be focused on development issues. It should be of high social and economic importance.


The field research must take place in a developing country. Preference is given to studies taking place in Asia. Students must have a master's degree and be registered on a PhD course. They must attend a UK university. Students from any country can apply but preference is given to UK students. They must also be a part of the Royal Geographical Society. This could be as a Fellow, a Postgraduate Fellow, or as an ordinary member.

Application deadlines

The following deadlines apply: