Grant / loan for studying abroad

Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme - Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme

General information on this grant / loan

Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme
Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme
Eligible countries: 
Belize, Cameroon, Jamaica, Maldives, Pakistan, Samoa, Tanzania, Vanuatu
Other limitation: 
Hold a first degree at either first- or upper second-class level;

General Description

The Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme aims to support students with an excellent academic record from developing Commonwealth countries to pursue taught Master’s programmes at UCL who would not otherwise be able to afford it. Only certain taught Master’s programmes at UCL related to economics, social and techonological development of the candidate’s country are eligible. 5 awards are given annually.


Applicants must be nationals of a Commonwealth developing country. Candidates must not be currently living or studying in a developed country, or have previous studied for one year or more at a developed country. Candidates should have a first class, or upper second class first degree. Candidates must be proficient in English. Candidates must not be employed by a government department or a parastatal organisation. Candidates must undertake to return to their home country.

Application deadlines

The following deadlines apply: